Argument to Launch PS with a Document Loaded

Comments and discussions about Adobe Photoshop
davcon1
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 1:00 am

Argument to Launch PS with a Document Loaded

Postby davcon1 » Thu Apr 10, 2003 8:56 pm

In Windows, I want to be able to d-click on the PS.exe shortcut and have it automatically load a document. I realize that I can d-click on an associated file extention but this does not address my current situation.

Most programs will allow you to include a 'file open' argument on the same line as the .exe (i.e. "...\photoshop.exe <DocumentFilePath>").

thx -dc :-?

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3325
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Fri Apr 11, 2003 12:38 pm

This can be wuite easily done:

1. Right click on the Photoshop shortcut and selct Properties from the context menu.

2. Add the path of your image to the Target: text box after the Photoshop path. The Photoshop path and the image path should be seperated by a space. For example lets say the Photoshop path is C:\Program Files\Adobe\PS7\Photoshop.exe and the image path is C:\images\myimage.jpg. Then the Target: text box should contain
C:\Program Files\Adobe\PS7\Photoshop.exe C:\images\myimage.jpg

3. Press OK.

davcon1
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 1:00 am

Issue Solved

Postby davcon1 » Fri Apr 11, 2003 7:32 pm

Thanks Harald - I tried doing this initially and couldn't get it to work due to typo! :o


Return to “Photoshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests