Page 1 of 1

Trouble installing filter

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:09 am
by KatCoconut
I have installed the 2 missing dlls, and some plugins work when installed, but others while appearing in my drop down menu, give me an error message that the filter is missing files or mis- installed. I have deleted these filters and reinstalled, and keep getting the same message. Can you help?

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:25 pm
by HaraldHeim
Which filters? What does the error message say?

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:38 pm
by KatCoconut
one filter I'm having trouble with is Greg's Factory Output I. the error message is "Paint Shop Pro was unable to load the requested plugin filter. The plug-in may not be installed properly or may be missing files. (Plug-in: Gpoolshd.8bf)

When I looked in the plugin folder, I find this filter there.
Thanks for your help

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:16 pm
by HaraldHeim
See http://www.thepluginsite.com/products/p ... kework.htm

If you are using Vista 64bit, you need to copy the .dll file(s) into the SysWOW64 folder.

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:27 pm
by KatCoconut
I'm running xp. And already installed the plugin.dll and msvcrt.dll Do I need the msvcrt10.dll as well?

Some filter's like Simple, murameister, eye candy 3, are all working. but I have uninstalled, and reinstalled new copies of Visman, Greg's, Toadies, and a few others and keep getting the same message.

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:55 pm
by KatCoconut
I just down loaded and installed the msvcrt10.dll and all is working perfectly. Thanks for your help

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:06 pm
by HaraldHeim
Installing msvcrt.dll can corrupt your Windows installation. This file is a part of Windows and already installed with it. You probably just had luck and the msvcrt.dll was from the same Windows version that you are using. So never install msvcrt.dll downloaded from anywhere on the web!

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:44 pm
by KatCoconut
I neverwill again. I guess I just lucked out. Thanks for your help, and the warning. Everything is good now, so no more downloading dlls. for me.

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:58 am
by Donnag
I just got wins 7 and I have PSP 9, it's not letting me put plugins in?