Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Comments and discussions about Paint Shop Pro from Corel and formerly JASC
katiebuglove
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:52 pm

Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby katiebuglove » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:07 pm

Every time I open an image in PSP X, promote to background layer, and try to apply a filter, the link in the Effects menu is greyed out. I have to go into File Locations, delete the location and re-add it. Then I can use my plugins unti I close PSP. When I reopen the program I have to do this all over again.

I read another post about increasing the color depth to 16 bits and that is not my problem.

Any help at all is appreciated!

PSP X
Windows 7

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:59 pm

A plugin item on the menu is only greyed out if it does not support the current image type. Many plugins only support RGB images with 8 bit per channel. So if you opened a grayscaled or 256 color image, convert it to RGB. If it is 16 bit per channel, decrease it to 8 bit per channel.

Some plugins also do not support image with floating selection, on a layer, with fixed transparency or other kind of things. So you can also try Layers > Merge > Merge All (Flatten) in PSP.

katiebuglove
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:52 pm

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby katiebuglove » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:41 pm

I can increase/decrease colors, merge, flatten, doesn't matter. I still have to go into File Locations, delete the current path to my plugins, re-add the same path that I just deleted and then, and only then can I access my plugins.

I'm pretty sure it's not a matter ofr image type, etc.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby HaraldHeim » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:48 pm

Sorry, never heard about such a problem. So PSP is deactivating the plugin menu items when it is started. Maybe it has something to do with startup settings. You should also try to change some plugin settings in Preferences.

katiebuglove
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:52 pm

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby katiebuglove » Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:30 pm

I have fiddled with the settings in Preferences but didn't hit on anything.

I downloaded X3 trial last night and have had no problems with plugins so I'll probably purchase that. But kind of weird, Greg's Pool Shadow will not work. Of the dozens and dozens of plugins that I have, that's the only one that won't...funny, quirky machine!

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby HaraldHeim » Sat Jul 16, 2011 4:42 am

Concerning making Pool Shadow work see here
http://www.thepluginsite.com/products/p ... kework.htm

You can also run Pool Shadow by loading it from the FilterMeister plugin (www.filtermeister.com)

SheriLynn
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby SheriLynn » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:38 pm

I'm having this problem, too. My plugins worked fine up until a few days ago. Now, they are greyed out (nothing to do with color settings) and the only way I can get them useable is to add a 'fake' directory to the plugin file locations. When I close PSP and come back later, the plugins are greyed out again. I have to delete that 'fake' directory...and so on, and so on and so on.

Any help at all is appreciated.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby HaraldHeim » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:01 pm

What PSP version do you use?

SheriLynn
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby SheriLynn » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:06 pm

x10. I also have 1003 patch installed, which I thought was supposed to fix this.

SheriLynn
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby SheriLynn » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:09 pm

Any ideas on this?

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Re: Have to Keep Renaming Plugin Directory

Postby HaraldHeim » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:20 pm

Sorry, no idea. You should try a newer version of PSP and see if it works better there.


Return to “Paint Shop Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests