KPT 3.0 Photoshop 7.0 Windows XP

Comments and discussions about 8bf plugins which can be use in various applications like Photoshop, Paint Shop Pro or Photo-Paint
bwalker
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:10 pm

KPT 3.0 Photoshop 7.0 Windows XP

Postby bwalker » Wed May 07, 2003 5:14 pm

Hi

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has this problem. My apologies if it has been answered before.

Migrated to Windows XP recently (which works FAR better than previous systems).

Installed Photoshop 7.0 and it works fine.

Tried to re-install Kai's Power Tools 3.0 which used to work fine with Windows 95, 98, even the dreaded Windows M.E.

Now it won't install. I have gathered here and there that KPT is no more (like Monty Python's Dead Parrot).

The question is, is there anyway to get the old KPT 3.0 to work as a plugin for Photoshop 7.0 or any other program that accepts Photoshop plugins?

Thanks, if anyone can help with this question.

--Bill Walker
Stockton, CA

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3333
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu May 08, 2003 11:16 am

You need the Photoshop 7.0.1 update to run KPT3. Photoshop 7.0.0 doesn't let you run KPT 3.

bwalker
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:10 pm

Solution to the problem

Postby bwalker » Tue May 13, 2003 4:15 pm

Hello again...

This is very cool!

The Internet comes through again.

Parts of the solution came from various kind souls in this and other forums.

In my situation, here is what worked.

1. You need to have a driver named Kpt3hub.dll
and put it in your Windows/System32
directory

2. You need to copy your KPT plugins to the
Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop 7.0/Plug-ins/
Adobe Photoshop only/Filters directory

3. And then, check your version of Photoshop.
When I received my upgrade, it was Photoshop
7.0.1. But, on someone's advice, I went
to the Adobe site, downloaded the patch for
7.0.1, installed it and then everything
worked great. The KPT filters DO NOT
freeze up now.

YAY!

The other good news is that if you copy the KPT filters to the Program files/Corel/Corel Painter 8/Plugins directory you are half way to getting them to work there as well.

The other trick is to copy the Kpt3hub.dll to the Program files/Corel/Corel Painter 8 directory.

With these now in place, the KPT filters WORK in Painter 8.

Thanks for all the advice from many sources.

--Bill Walker
Stockton, CA

p.s. hope this explained it well enough. If not e-mail me and I can clarify if need be.


Return to “Photoshop-compatible Plugins”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests