Home  ||  Products | Download | Order  ||  Resources | Reviews | Forum | News | Gallery  ||  About


PhotoWiz plugins > ICC-profiles?

General discussions ColorWasher, FocalBlade, LightMachine, B/W Styler and ContrastMaster

PhotoWiz plugins > ICC-profiles?

Postby Ando » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:58 pm

Harald a question to all your PhotoWiz plugins > do they consider ICC-profiles when used in a color management workflow (calibrated/profiled monitor, corresponding settings in Photoshop)? Thx
Ando
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Postby HaraldHeim » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:13 pm

The color management stuff is always handled by the host application itself. So if you run a plugin in Photoshop, the color management stuff is done by Photoshop and not the plugin. Photoshop renders the plugin previews and automatically uses the appropriate profile. Plugins only work on the raw image data and not on the output as it is seen on screen.

So you don't need to worry about color management when using Photoshop plugins.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby Ando » Sat Oct 07, 2006 4:21 pm

HaraldHeim wrote:Photoshop renders the plugin previews and automatically uses the appropriate profile.


Thanks that is the point. I asked because a consequent realization of color management seems not to be a matter of course even when using professional software like Photoshop: e.g. the previews rendered by Bridge do not show the same colors as the pictures themselves when opened in Photoshop. At least on my PC where I run a serious color management workflow. This is very surprising to me as I always thought that Adobe is leading in the color management theme. 8)
Ando
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Postby HaraldHeim » Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:24 pm

I never used Bridge, because I dislike it, so I never had that problem so far :-). But if you are correct than it is a big negligence.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby Ando » Tue Oct 10, 2006 10:45 pm

HaraldHeim wrote:I never used Bridge, because I dislike it, so I never had that problem so far :-). But if you are correct than it is a big negligence.


I checked this again and constated that now preview in Bridge and Photoshop show the same colors! Being more than happy with this I suspect that one of the last Bridge updates fixed this together with some other issues. :-)
Ando
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria


Return to PhotoWiz General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest