Home  ||  Products | Download | Order  ||  Resources | Reviews | Forum | News | Gallery  ||  About


Windows Vista Problem

General discussions ColorWasher, FocalBlade, LightMachine, B/W Styler and ContrastMaster

Windows Vista Problem

Postby MarkA » Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:16 pm

I recently purchased a new computer with Windows Vista. I have the latest versions of BWStyler, Color Washer, and Light Machine installed and they all work. However, every time I use them, I get an annoying pop up window that says that this is the first time the plug-in has been run...Do you want to use it in "Easy mode"?

Is there something I can do to stop this?
MarkA
Plugin Newbie
Plugin Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:10 pm

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:49 pm

The PhotoWiz plugins probably can't create the .ini files in their folder(s). You need to make sure that the folder(s) has the necessary access rights. To do that right click the folder, choose Properties and on the Security tab sheet activate "Read" and "Write".

If you installed them into your Photoshop plugins folder (e.g. with the Plugin Installer tool), you need to do it for the Photoshop plugins folder.

This problem will be fixed in the next update.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3123
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby sgroarke » Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:10 pm

I too had this problem - and can confirm that the fix you described worked for me.
sgroarke
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:05 pm

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:37 am

The next update of the PhotoWiz plugins will fix this problem by automatically storing .ini files in the appdata path which is always accessible.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3123
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby sgroarke » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:42 am

One other positive thing in connection with this: I had previously installed the trial version of BW Styler, and then installed the full version. As well as the problem reported here, I also had, despite uninstalling the trial version, a persistent menu entry for it (and the full version) in my Photoshop Elements filter menu.

Upon changing the permissions as per here, this redundant entry has disappeared. Might be a coincidence, but I am guessing it is connected.

I'm happy, anyway. :-)
sgroarke
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:05 pm

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:52 pm

This problem will also be fixed in the next update by running Plugin Installer during uninstallation.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3123
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site


Return to PhotoWiz General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest