CW an FB crashing Canvas9 on W2K

ColorWasher specific discussions
Post Reply
joseph

CW an FB crashing Canvas9 on W2K

Post by joseph »

I have a reproducable error:

- Start Canvas9
- new document
- image / import
- image / filter / photowiz /

FilterMeister Run-Time Exception
Memory Access Violation!
Dispaly Exception Details?
Yes No Cancel

From now on the photowiz window can only be left by the ESC key
and then Canvas opens a message box about accessing memory at 0x00000000 could not be written.

This happens on german w2k as well as on us-en w2k.

Harald - any ideas ?

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Post by HaraldHeim »

The problem appeared for every image you tried, right?

I will try to reproduce it. I guess this is some kind of incompatibility with Canvas. Hopefully I will be able to fix it with the next update. Thanks for letting me know.

joseph

Post by joseph »

So when will I be able to use both apps like it should be ?

regards
joseph

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Post by HaraldHeim »

I didn't find any problems with using FocalBlade in Canvas 9. But ColorWasher 2 displayed the mentioned error messages after it was applied a second time. When I applied LightMachine a second time it also behaved quite strangely. There were no error messages, but the Brightness slider suddenly darkened the image instead of brightening it.

I will try to fix the problems. If the problems lies more on the Canvas side I will have to remove Canvas from the compatibility list.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Post by HaraldHeim »

Seems that Canvas has similar problems like PhotoPlus (see http://www.graphicsgalaxy.com/forums/th ... php?t=1390) only a bit more severe. After fixing the PhotoPlus problems, ColorWasher seems to cause no problem in Canvas anymore. The next version will include the fix.

Please contact me with your order details for a unofficial fixed version at
http://thepluginsite.com/about/contact.htm

joseph

Post by joseph »

Harald, do you assume this issue is fixed with CW V2.02b Update?
regards
joseph

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Post by HaraldHeim »

I already fixed the Canvas problem in ColorWasher 2.02. The same problem was fixed in LightMachine 1.0b.

Please let me know if you find any problems with FocalBlade in Canvas, because I didn't find one. I plan to release a new FocalBlade version at the end of this month, so I could fit in a fix for any problems with Canvas.

Post Reply