Problems With Auto Surface and Auto Sharpen in Expert Mode

FocalBlade specific discussions
wxmanunr
Plugin Newbie
Plugin Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 5:55 pm

Problems With Auto Surface and Auto Sharpen in Expert Mode

Postby wxmanunr » Fri Apr 30, 2004 6:01 pm

Anyone having these problems with Focalblade v1.02b and Photoshop CS?

I can usually sharpen a couple of images and things work alright. But then all of a sudden, I change a setting in Auto Sharpen or Auto Surface and the Sharpen slider values turns to 0. I can manually change it, but the auto part no longer resets the Sharpen slider.

The only way to get the Auto Sharpen / Auto Surface to work again in Expert Mode is to hit the Reset button.

I've eMailed Mr. Heim, but haven't received a response.

BTW, I *love* the sharpening results of this tool. Just need to get it working right.

Thanx.

wxmanunr

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3325
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:17 pm

Sorry, I'm too busy to reply immediately. I'm just preparing the Plugin Newsletter. I have a suspicion what may cause it. It seems to only appear on certain systems and randomly. I myself have never experienced it and if I remember correctly, you are only the second person that wrote about it to me.

I will prepare a fix until Monday and send it to you for testing. Thanks for your patience.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3325
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Sun May 02, 2004 4:54 pm

Erik aka wxmanunr, thanks for your help. I now found the problem. The auto features don't work if you apply FocalBlade to 16-bit images. There is no problem with 8-bit images.

The problem was that the larger 16bit values produced a variable overflow, so the analyzed value was negative which set the sliders to zero.

Sorry, for this mean bug! We will test FocalBlade more thoroughly on 16bit images in future.

There will be a FocalBlade update soon. If you purchased FocalBlade and need the fix immediately, please contact me with your order information and I'll send you an unofficial update.


Return to “FocalBlade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests