Page 1 of 1

LightMachine Spot Mode, etc.

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:58 pm
by Mike Bergen
I like this product but I am having a problem adjusting each spot light independently. After I finish with the first spot, I click on a second spot which now has the same settings as the first spot. How do I reset the settings in order to use different settings for the second spot?
In a related issue. How can I move from mode to mode without losing all my work. For example, I finish with the Shadows/Highlights adjustments and want to add some spot lighting. When I move to this mode I lose all my previous work.
Does one have to press "OK" between each mode in order to save the adjustments? The manual is not very clear on this point.
Thanks for all your great products and support.
Mike

Re: LightMachine Spot Mode, etc.

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:55 am
by HaraldHeim
Mike Bergen wrote:I like this product but I am having a problem adjusting each spot light independently. After I finish with the first spot, I click on a second spot which now has the same settings as the first spot. How do I reset the settings in order to use different settings for the second spot?


The currently selected spot (the one with a small rectangle and large circle around it) can be adjusted with the sliders from the Spot Mask tab sheet. If you want to modify another spot you have to clicking on its cross in the preview at first to select it. Then you can adjust it.


In a related issue. How can I move from mode to mode without losing all my work. For example, I finish with the Shadows/Highlights adjustments and want to add some spot lighting. When I move to this mode I lose all my previous work.
Does one have to press "OK" between each mode in order to save the adjustments? The manual is not very clear on this point.
Thanks for all your great products and support.
Mike


Yes, you have to press OK to apply save the adjustments if you don't just change from the simple version to the Pro version of the same Mode. Every mode is a filter of its own. If you could use all modes simultanously, it would get quite confusing and the rendering would be much slower.

I'll make it more clear in the Manual when releasing Version 1.01. Thanks for the hint.

LighMachine Spot Mode

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:50 pm
by creativedialog
Harald-
Thanks for the quick response. I tried what you suggested but this creates a problem. It appears that after setting the brightness and contrast adjustments for the first spot, one can not use other brightness/contrast settings for any other spots. All one can change on other spots are the mask settings. I guess one can press "OK" after each spot if other spots require different settings. Is this what you intended?
Mike Bergen

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:33 am
by HaraldHeim
The Brightness and Contrast sliders work on all spots simultanously, so they are for general brightness adjustments. So you have to set them for the brightest spot and reduce the Intensity slider for all spots that should appear less bright. The same is true for the sliders on the Reflections tab sheet. They are adjusted for the whole image, which means they affect all spots.

A future version of LightMachine will probably provide more flexible adjustments.

LightMachine Spot Adjustments

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:46 am
by creativedialog
That should take care of my problem, Thanks. It might help to clarify this in the manual.
Mike Bergen

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:28 am
by HaraldHeim
Have a look at the Step by Step page in the manual. It is mentioned there.