Page 1 of 1

B/W Styler v1.01 Glitch

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:36 am
by hexaguano
Running in WinXP

When B/W Styler is in Photography Mode, the first list box titled "Film" does not drop properly. All of the other list boxes behave correctly.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:02 am
by emmrecs
Not a problem here, also running XP Pro SP2.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:12 pm
by HaraldHeim
I think the problem occurs if the B/W Styler window is too close to the buttom of the screen. In that case the drop down menu is displayed towards the top of the screen, because the list is too long. To select an item from the drop down menu you need to keep the mouse button pressed down and only release it after selecting the item.

There is nothing I can do about it. That's how Windows handles it. I could only remove some of the items from the drop down menu. But I don't think anyone would want that.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:00 pm
by hexaguano
You are correct Harald. If I move the B/W Styler window to the very top of the screen, the list box opens properly. Or, if I maximize B/W Styler by double clicking on the Title Bar letters it works. However, when in the non-maximized mode, B/W does not "remember" to open at the very top of the screen at next use.

Also, the first time I maximized it, I couldn't get it to unmaximize. I had to delete the BWStyler.ini file to get this to work. I must have had a corrupted .ini file? Maximize/unmaximize works fine now.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:43 pm
by HaraldHeim
You can always "unmaximize" the B/W Styler window by moving the mouse to the window border and dragging it smaller.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 3:12 pm
by hexaguano
I guess I should have tried that before deleting the .ini file.

Is there a way to make B/W Styler's window placement "sticky" so that it opens at the top of my screen? Or, is this a Windows thing too?

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:56 pm
by Brian Smith
I am having a new problem with B/W Styler 1.01: In either Paint Shop Pro XI or Photoshop Elements 5, the second time I try to use the plugin, the adjustment screen on the right side of the plugin becomes completely garbled. This was not a problem on the previous versions of the plugin.

Has anyone else experienced the same problem?

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:21 pm
by emmrecs
Yes, I've seen the same thing happen, though not every time, and in my case with Serif PhotoPlus 10.

The only solution seems to be to close the application, reopen it and the B/W Styler Screen becomes ungarbled.

I've just been able to reproduce the problem: open the app, open a picture, use B/W Styler to adjust, click OK and accept adjustment, decide that more adjustment is necessary, reopen B/W Styler, the "adjustment" area of the display becomes totally unusable.

This does seem to be an unfortunate bug.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:42 pm
by hexaguano
I just tried to reproduce this but it works OK here in PS CS2.

I did however, delete the BWStyler.ini file previously. Have you tried that or renaming/moving it and letting Styler recreate it?

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:07 pm
by Brian Smith
I tried deleting the ini files on both PE 5 and PSP XI. It did not help. This appears to be a bug.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:42 pm
by HaraldHeim
hexaguano: B/W Styler would need to remember the screen coordinates to open at the same position the next time. But B/W Styler does not do that. I can add that feature in a future update.

Brian Smith: Please redownload B/W Styler from the same link. I uploaded a fixed version in the meantime. You can simply install over the previous installation. hexaguano seems to already have the fixed version.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:06 pm
by emmrecs
HaraldHeim wrote:Brian Smith: Please redownload B/W Styler from the same link. I uploaded a fixed version in the meantime. You can simply install over the previous installation. hexaguano seems to already have the fixed version.


Harald, I still have the same problem as Brian Smith. Unfortunately, the link provided in the original email notification to me no longer works.

Please advise how I may download the fixed version.

Many thanks.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:37 pm
by hexaguano
HaraldHeim wrote:hexaguano: B/W Styler would need to remember the screen coordinates to open at the same position the next time. But B/W Styler does not do that. I can add that feature in a future update.


Thanks for considering this. Having to hold down the drop down list arrow to select is kind of a "kludge".

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
by hexaguano
Harald,

As an FYI, I just upgraded from PS CS2 to CS3 and the drop down box in B/W Styler no longer exhibits this behavior. For some reason, the B/W dialog box must be opening in a slightly different position.