Reset & Global Presets





The Reset Button

If you want to restart with the default settings or just opened a new image, it is a good idea to click on the Reset button. The behavior of the Reset button can be defined by the On Reset combo box on the Prefs tab sheet. For more information, please read the Prefs Tab page.

If you use the Reset button in Photography Mode, B/W Quick Mode or Expert Mode, all settings are set to their default values, which produces a simple B/W conversion. This feature is especially helpful if you start with a new image. When clicking the Reset button in the simple and special effects modes only the effect of the current mode is undone. Effects that were chosen in other modes are kept. To reset all controls in these modes you need to hold down the Shift key while pressing the Reset button.

Right clicking (or Ctrl clicking on the Mac) on the Reset button will display a context menu with various options. The four options correspond to the options of the On Reset combo box of the Prefs tab: "Default Settings" activates the default setting and removes any adjustments that you made. "Previous Settings" loads the settings that were applied previously. "Own Defaults" will automatically open the preset file that you have chosen when selecting the "Own Default" in the Prefs tab. "Logged Settings" will open a preset that was automatically saved when you worked with the same image the last time, provided that you had the Log Settings check box in the Prefs tab activated.

Right clicking on the Reset button will display a context menu with various options. These menu items correspond to the options of the On Reset combo box of the Prefs tab: "Default Settings"deactivates a lot of other controls, but activates the default setting for the Auto Contrast and Exposure Fix options."Preview Settings" loads the settings that were used for correcting the previous image. "Own Defaults" will automatically open the preset file that you have chosen when selecting the "Own Default" in the Prefs tab. "Logged Settings" will try to open a preset that was automatically saved when you corrected the same image the last time.

 


The Top Arrow-Down Menu

If you click on the arrow-down button at the left of the Mode combo box, a menu will be displayed. This menu includes options for opening and saving presets and a list of all presets from the presets folders. A global preset is file that stores the effect settings of B/W Styler. It can be used to restore often needed settings.


Open Presets

Several global presets are already delivered with B/W Styler, which can be useful as a starting point. They change all settings of B/W Styler. In contrast to that the local presets, which are located on tab sheets, only influence a few controls.

When you choose the Open Preset menu item, a file dialog displaying the files of the Presets sub folder appears and let you select a preset file. The folder of the last opened preset is displayed by default in the file dialog.


Save Preset

You can save the current B/W Styler settings as a preset with the help of the Save Preset menu item. Please save presets into the Presets sub folder at

Windows 2000/XP:
c:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Application Data\ThePluginSite\BWStyler\
Windows Vista/7: c:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\ThePluginSite\BWStyler\

MacOS X: /Library/Application Support/PhotoWiz/BWStyler/Presets/

otherwise they will not appear at the bottom of the menu.

You can open a saved preset again with the Open Preset menu item or by selecting them on the same menu.


Preset Items

At the bottom of the menu is a list of B/W Styler presets. In case you already saved presets in the application data folder (see "Save Preset" above), they are displayed first followed by a separation line. Then the included presets, which are located in the Presets sub folder of the installation folder, are shown.

If you choose a preset from this menu, it is immediately applied and changes all settings. Choosing a preset directly from the menu, is faster than hunting it with the Open Preset command.