upgrading to CS and using Plug-ins from previos versions

Comments and discussions about Adobe Photoshop
mikepdx
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:45 am

upgrading to CS and using Plug-ins from previos versions

Postby mikepdx » Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:53 am

I am considering upgrading to Photoshop CS from v7.0.1

Will I be able to use the plug-ins from the folders of the previous
versions with CS? My 'fix' has been to create a shortcut to
the older version's plug-ins folder and drop it in the newly
installed version's plug-ins folder - works like a charm.
v 7.0.1 is finding plugs from versions 5.5 and 6.0's plug-ins
folders.

anyone know?
thank you

P.S. I work with images of postage stamps, both domestic and
foreign - I wonder if, now that Adobe is our own personal 'nanny',
they will prohibit me from opening them in CS. hmmm.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3325
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:06 pm

Placing a shortcut to the 7.01 plugins folder inside the CS plugins folder will do the job. However, you might end up with dublicates of the plugins that are delivered with Photoshop. So you might want to delete them.

Photoshop only blocks images with certain watermarks. If you didn't put special watermarks on your images, there will be no problem opening them. Even then saving them as JPG erases the watermark and you can open them again.

mikepdx
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:45 am

Postby mikepdx » Thu Jan 15, 2004 4:07 am

thank you very kindly for the reply!

mikepdx

Andrew B.
Plugin Expert
Plugin Expert
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 5:49 am

Postby Andrew B. » Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:20 pm

Duplicates only have to be deleted IF you create a single shortcut to the root plugin folder in Photoshop 7. If you create multiple shortcuts that point only to third-party plugins or their folders, then you don't have to delete any duplicates. This will also allow you to leave PS 7 in full working order until you are sure PS CS does everything you want.

BTW, I have become so tired of dealing with this plugin issue that I created a folder that is completely outside of Photoshop's folder structure called "Plugins." And now all my third party plugins are there. Then I told Photoshop CS to look in this folder as a secondary plugin folder. And now that I've done this, the next time I upgrade I won't have to worry about moving the third party plugins. I'll just point the new Photoshop there.

I also have another folder called "Hold Plugins," and it contains plugins I don't use anymore, but might want to get at quickly. When I need one of these, I drag a shortcut from the individual plugin to my dedicated Plugins folder. Then delete the shortcut when I'm done.

One problem will be plugins that insist on installing themselves into the Photoshop folder system. But I can just keep an eye out for these, and deal with them as needed.


Return to “Photoshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests