Glitch with Lighting Effects in CS

Comments and discussions about Adobe Photoshop
aspect_ratio_16x9
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:50 am
Location: Portland, ME USA
Contact:

Glitch with Lighting Effects in CS

Postby aspect_ratio_16x9 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:20 pm


I have had difficulty getting Lighting Effects to work in my newly installed CS upgrade.

Dialog box opens as usual, but the "lighting styles" drop down is greyed out, and appears empty. All I get is a hideous yellow spotlight.

I have un-installed and re-installed the effect several times, all to no avail. Have also un-installed and installed Lighting Styles from both PS 6 & 7, which I knew to work properly....same thing.

After spending nearly a month customising CS with all my favvy plug-ins and what not, I am very hesitant to do a full un-install and re-install of Photoshop, but if all else fails I suppose I'll have to as a last resort.

Has anyone else had this same glitch?

I'm running on a brand new Dell 8400S desktop with memory out the wazoo, so I dont think its a hardware problem.

I miss my 2 O'clock spot, waahh!

--aspect

Roo
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Massachusettes
Contact:

Postby Roo » Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:57 pm

Not a glitch. Make sure you are in RGB mode:
Image>>>Mode>>>RGB Color

I'll bet anything you are in another color mode.

aspect_ratio_16x9
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:50 am
Location: Portland, ME USA
Contact:

glitch with lighting effects...

Postby aspect_ratio_16x9 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:03 pm

it's a good thing we didn't shake on it, lol.

seriously tho, that was one of the first things I checked.. its not that, or a layer issue.....I'm stumped.

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3325
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:55 pm

Sounds like one ore more files have been deleted from your Photoshop installation. You could try installing over the old version.

aspect_ratio_16x9
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:50 am
Location: Portland, ME USA
Contact:

glitch in lighting effects

Postby aspect_ratio_16x9 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:58 pm

do you mean, just re-load PS CS, OVER the current standing installation? let redundant files be over-written, and any missing be installed in the empty spaces?

i didnt know you could do that.

--aspect.


Return to “Photoshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests