Home  ||  Products | Download | Order  ||  Resources | Reviews | Forum | News | Gallery  ||  About


LightMachine problem with Serif PhotoPlus 9

LightMachine specific discussions

LightMachine problem with Serif PhotoPlus 9

Postby emmrecs » Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:59 pm

I also have FocalBlade and Colorwasher so am very aware of the quality of these plugins. The problem with LightMachine is one I saw with the demo version, also present in the full bought version.

On first using LightMachine on any image (most usually these are jpg) all works as expected and excellent results are obtained. However, on attempting to use LM on any image file within the same "session" of the host program, the preview screen goes completely opaque black as soon as any alteration to existing settings is made, whether or not Reset is pressed. (Hope that makes sense).

If I wish to use LM on a second image file I must first close and then re-open the host program. Any body else experience this?

I did report this problem to Harald but I presume the lack of any reply implies that he cannot reproduce the problem?

Any help/advice would be very gratefully received. If it is of any significance, this problem does not occur with FB or CW.
emmrecs
Plugin Expert
Plugin Expert
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Postby HaraldHeim » Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:52 pm

Maybe this is a specific problem with PhotoPlus. I will try to reproduce it as soon as possible.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3104
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby emmrecs » Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:24 am

Any luck, Harald, in tracing the cause of this problem?

I have recently installed XP Pro SP2, previously XP Pro SP1. This resolved many of the other problems my computer had previously but not, unfortunately, this one with LightMachine. It is something of a pain to have to close the application and then reopen it in order to use LM on a second and any subsequent image.
emmrecs
Plugin Expert
Plugin Expert
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Postby HaraldHeim » Wed Feb 16, 2005 5:59 pm

Serif doesn't provide any trial version of PhotoPlus 9, so I downloaded the free PhotoPlus 6 version.

In my case I get a Memory Access Error message if I click on OK in LightMachine and ColorWasher 2. So I can't apply them at all to the image. I also noticed the black preview when running them again. However, FocalBlade and ColorWasher 1 work without a problem.

Seems that PhotoPlus has a very different memory usage scheme than other applications. I will see if I can find a workaround.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3104
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby HaraldHeim » Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:28 pm

I now noticed that the Memory Access Error problem with PhotoPlus 6 comes from the Log Settings check box in LightMachine and ColorWasher 2. So deactivating the Log Settings check box on the Prefs tab in LightMachine fixes the problem. I don't think I can add a fix for that in LightMachine, because PhotoPlus 6 does something unorthodox here.

emmrecs, can you please activate the Log Settings check box in LightMachine and press OK? I don't know if this problem occurs in PhotoPlus 9. I hope not.

I also found the cause of the other problem with the black result when applying LightMachine a second time. I don't know what PhotoPlus exactly does, but it confused the memory management in LightMachine. Maybe PhotoPlus doesn't fully quit the plugin, so that some exit code in LightMachine isn't executed. Anyway I added a fix, so the next LightMachine version will avoid this problem.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3104
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby emmrecs » Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:10 pm

Thanks, Harald, for the continued efforts and for your reply.

Activating the Log Settings check box in LM, making changes to an image, then clicking OK produces the message of a memory violation: "ds = 0x0023". Unchecking Log Settings allows LM to process the image without further problem.

Good to know you've succeeded in finding out why second and subsequent uses of the plug-in cause the black mask; am very much looking forward to the next version of LM. Any ideas when?

Regards.
emmrecs
Plugin Expert
Plugin Expert
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Postby HaraldHeim » Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:45 pm

I will release a new LightMachine version on Monday if nothing comes inbetween. I also just managed to fix the problem with activated Log Settings in Photo Plus.
HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
 
Posts: 3104
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site

Postby emmrecs » Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:57 pm

Excellent News! Many thanks, Harald.
emmrecs
Plugin Expert
Plugin Expert
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Lincolnshire, UK


Return to LightMachine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron